Spring 2015 Courses

The following graduate courses are being offered in the Spring. Email addresses are included for contacting instructors for further information. For those who are not aware of the opportunity, Duke and UNC have a reciprocal registration arrangement that allows graduate students at one university to take courses at the other. For a list of courses being offered at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, see the website for UNC's program in Medieval and Early Modern Studies.

Inter-Institutional Registration Agreement

Under the interinstitutional registration agreement, any graduate, professional, or undergraduate student enrolled as a degree-seeking student at any of the following participating universities may participate in registration via the interinstitutional registration process:

Duke University
North Carolina Central University
North Carolina State University
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
University of North Carolina at Greensboro

For further information on rules and registration procedures, go to the Inter-institutional Registration Agreement website.

Duke/UNC direct bus: A new Duke/UNC direct bus, funded by the Robertson Scholars Program, departs frequently and makes traveling between the two campuses easier than ever before. See the Robertson Scholars website for the departure and arrival schedule for this bus.


Visual and Media Studies 551LS Wired! New Representations: "Visualizing Venetian Art"
(Also HISTORY 590S)
Kristin Lanzoni
M 1:25 - 4:05
Loc: Smith Warehouse, Bay 11, A233
kristin.lanzoni@duke.edu
See synopsis


MEDREN 576S.01 Microhistory
(Also HISTORY 520S.01)
Thomas Robisheaux
W 6:30 - 9:00
Loc: Allen 304I
trobish@duke.edu
See synopsis


MEDREN 590S. Advanced Seminar in Medieval & Renaissance Studies: "Building by the Books: Architectural Theory from Antiquity to the Renaissance"
(Also ARTHIST 590S.01)
Sara Galletti
W 3:05 - 5:30
Loc: Smith Warehouse, Bay 10, A266
sara.galletti@duke.edu
See synopsis


MEDREN 615S.01 Dante Studies: "Danteís Books"
(Also ITALIAN 583S.01)
Martin Eisner
TU 4:40 - 7:10
Loc: Social Sciences 105
martin.eisner@duke.edu
See synopsis


Art History 620S Models: Premodern to Posthuman

Annabel Wharton
TU 6:30 - 9:30
Loc: East Duke 204A
wharton@duke.edu
See synopsis


MEDREN 630S.01 Shakespeare Special Topics: "Shakespeare and Company"
(Also ENGLISH 536S.01)
Joseph Porter
W 3:05 - 5:35
Loc: TBA
japorter@duke.edu
See synopsis


MEDREN 690S-2.01 Topics in Renaissance Studies: "Foreigners Welcome"
(Also ITALIAN 590S-1.01, ARTHIST 590S-2.01)
Valeria Finucci
W 3:05 - 5:350
Loc: TBA
vfinucci@duke.edu
See synopsis


History 790S.07 Research Topics in Politics, Public Life, the State: "Violence in the Premodern Era"

Jehangir Malegam
TU 3:05 - 5:35
Loc: TBA
jm245@duke.edu
See synopsis


English 890S.01. Special Topics Seminar: "Human Bodies, Human Souls"

Sarah Beckwith
W 10:05 -12:35
Loc: Allen 317

sarah.beckwith@duke.edu
See synopsis

DIVINITY SCHOOL COURSES


Church History 751. Modern European Christianity

Sujin Pak
WF 10:00 - 11:15
Note: Preceptor required
See synopsis


Church History 822. Heresies & Heretics

Meredith Riedel
MW 4:00 - 5:15
Loc: Westbrook 0012
mriedel@div.duke.edu
See synopsis


Christian Theology 962. The Theology of Thomas Aquinas

Reinhard Huetter
M 6:30 - 9:00
Loc: TBD
rhuetter@div.duke.edu
See synopsis


Christian Theology 890S.02. The Unintended Reformation? Miltonís Theology, Life Questions, and Poetry

David Aers
TH 2:30 - 5:00
Loc: Langford 050
aers@duke.edu
See synopsis