Spring 2017 Courses

The following graduate courses are being offered in the Spring. Email addresses are included for contacting instructors for further information. For those who are not aware of the opportunity, Duke and UNC have a reciprocal registration arrangement that allows graduate students at one university to take courses at the other. For a list of courses being offered at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, see the website for UNC's program in Medieval and Early Modern Studies.

Inter-Institutional Registration Agreement

Under the interinstitutional registration agreement, any graduate, professional, or undergraduate student enrolled as a degree-seeking student at any of the following participating universities may participate in registration via the interinstitutional registration process:

Duke University
North Carolina Central University
North Carolina State University
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
University of North Carolina at Greensboro

For further information on rules and registration procedures, go to the Inter-institutional Registration Agreement website.

Duke/UNC direct bus: A new Duke/UNC direct bus, funded by the Robertson Scholars Program, departs frequently and makes traveling between the two campuses easier than ever before. See the Robertson Scholars website for the departure and arrival schedule for this bus.

MEDREN 551.01 Modern European Christianity (Also Church History 751)
Sujin Pak
MW 2:30 - 3:45
Loc: TBA
spak@div.duke.edu
See Synopsis

MEDREN 590S.01 Advanced Seminar in Medieval & Renaissance Studies: Don Quijote, A Novel of Modern Times (Also Spanish 590S.01)
Elvira Vilches
TUTH 4:40 - 5:55
Loc: Sociology-Psychology 128
elvira.vilches@duke.edu
See Synopsis

MEDREN 590S.02 Advanced Seminar in Medieval & Renaissance Studies: Literature and the Scientific Revolution (Also English 590S-1)
Julianne Werlin
W 3:05 - 5:35
Loc: Allen 306
julianne.werlin@duke.edu
See Synopsis

MEDREN 637S.01 Shakespeare and Co.: English Renaissance Drama (Also English 537S.01)
Joseph Porter
W 3:05 - 5:35
Loc: TBA
japorter@duke.edu
See Synopsis

History 790S.01 European History Seminar: Ritual in the Premodern World
Jehangir Malegam
TU 7:30 - 10:00pm
Loc: West Duke 108A
jm245@duke.edu
See Synopsis

English 890S Beyond Irony? Beyond Reformation? Chaucer, Langland, Lollards (Also English 537S.01)
David Aers
TH 12:00 - 2:30
Loc: Allen 317
aers@duke.edu
See Synopsis

DIVINITY SCHOOL COURSES


Church History (CHURHST) 768 Italy in the Life of the Church: Early and Medieval Christianity

Meredith Riedel and Beth Sheppard
M 1/30, 2/6, 2/27, 3/6, 3/20, 4/10, 4/17 6:00 - 8:00 pm
Loc: TBA
mriedel@div.duke.edu
bsheppard@div.duke.edu
See synopsis


Christian Ethics (XTIANETH) 800.01 War in the Christian Tradition

Amy Hall
TH 2:30 - 5:00
Loc: TBA
alhall@div.duke.edu
See synopsis


Christian Theology (XTIANTHE) 834.01 Thought of Augustine

Paul Griffiths
W 5:15 - 7:45
Loc: Langford 060
pgriffiths@div.duke.edu
See synopsis


Historical Theology 959.01 Calvin and the Reformed Tradition

Sujin Pak
W 8:30 - 11:00am
Loc: TBA
spak@div.duke.edu
See synopsis